Why was new york called new amsterdam?

A successful Dutch settlement in the colony grew up on the southern tip of Manhattan Island and was christened New Amsterdam. To legitimatize Dutch claims to New Amsterdam, Dutch governor Peter Minuit formally purchased Manhattan from the local tribe from which it derives it name in 1626.

---

The Dutch founded the city as New Amsterdam and when the English took over, they renamed it New York.