What is the biggest red giant?

The largest known red supergiant is thought to be VY Canis Majoris, measuring about 1800 times the size of the Sun. Imagine if the Sun extended out to the orbit of Saturn. Let's take a look at where red supergiant stars come from. Red supergiants are similar to red giants.