What is a dark horse candidate?

From Merriam-Webster dictionary: A dark horse is a usually little known contender (such as a racehorse) that makes an unexpectedly good showing, an entrant in a contest that is judged unlikely to succeed, or a political candidate unexpectedly nominated usually as a compromise between factions