What's the definition of prevere?

(a) One who conducts tests or trials; (b) one who accuses another of a crime; often, a felon who gives evidence against his accomplices in exchange for a pardon, one who turns king's evidence; (c) a basic truth or self-evident principle; (d) as surname.