How do you grow water chestnuts?

Water chestnuts require controlled irrigation and 220 frost free days to reach maturity. Corms are planted 4-5 inches deep in soil, 30 inches apart in rows, and then the field is flooded for a day. After that, the field is drained and the plants are allowed to grow until they are 12 inches high.