Is tilapia a real fish?

Yes, tilapia is a real fish – not a “franken-fish.” Stories of tilapia go back to the Roman Empire in 1500 B.C., with biblical scholars even hypothesizing that Jesus fed the masses on the shores of the Sea of Galilee with two tilapia and four loaves of bread!