What's the yuletide log?

The Yule log is a specially selected log burnt on a hearth as a winter tradition in regions of Europe, particularly the United Kingdom, and subsequently North America. The origin of the folk custom is unclear. It is also a cream filled chocolate sponge cake rolled to symbolize a yule log.