Why do they call it mincemeat pie?

The pie is made with a filling called mincemeat. Mincemeat is a centuries-old preparation & was originally intended as a way to use remnants of the butchering process. It is said that as far back as Elizabethan times, English cooks combined scraps of meat & bits of fruit in huge stoneware crocks.