What year did santa claus start?

The legend of Santa Claus can be traced back hundreds of years to a monk named St. Nicholas. It is believed that Nicholas was born sometime around 280 A.D. in Patara, near Myra in modern-day Turkey. St. Nicholas made his first inroads into American culture towards the end of the 18th century.