What's the maximum amount of liquid you can take on a carry-on?

According to the TSA website: Each passenger may carry liquids, gels and aerosols in travel-size containers that are 3.4 ounces or100 milliliters. Each passenger is limited to one quart-size bag of liquids, gels and aerosols