What does pro generator mean?

The source, or original, from which something is derived; a forebear or progenitor (chiefly figurative). The term Originated in Late 17th century; From post-classical Latin progenerator ancestor, forefather (400 in Augustine) from classical Latin prōgenerāt-, past participial stem of prōgenerāre