Who wrote tina turner's hit private dancer?

"Private Dancer" is a song made famous in 1984 by singer Tina Turner. First recorded by British rock band Dire Straits, it was written by the group's lead vocalist Mark Knopfler, and produced by John Carter for Turner's fifth solo album of the same name.