What is the origin of black lives matter?

In 2013, three female Black organizers created a Black-centered political will and movement project called Black Lives Matter. Black Lives Matter began with a social media hashtag, #BlackLivesMatter, after the acquittal of George Zimmerman in the shooting death of Trayvon Martin back in 2012.