How much does the human body is made of water?

The average adult human body is 50-65% water, averaging around 57-60%. The percentage of water in infants is much higher, around 75-78% water, dropping to 65% by one year of age. Body composition varies according to gender and fitness level because fatty tissue contains less water than lean tissue.