Why are armpits ticklish?

The armpits, ribs, neck, and inner thigh are all ticklish zones, the reason is because they are some of your most vulnerable zones to attack. Many scientists believe that we laugh and squirm when we're touched there because it's an evolutionary mechanism that's meant to teach ourselves self-defense.