Why are yo-yos called yo-yos?

Yo-yo-like toys first became popular in the US in the 1800s; at that time, they were called bandelore or whirligigs. It was not until 1920 that Pedro Flores trademarked the name yo-yo, which means "come come" in the Tagalog language. Donald Duncan bought the rights to the trademarked name.