What was the first college football game in history?

Rutgers and New Jersey, later known as Princeton, faced off in what is considered to be the first American football game ever played on Nov. 6, 1869. The game took place in New Brunswick, New Jersey, with an audience of about 100 on hand, according to Rutgers.