What's the toughest dog in the world?

If by tough you mean fierce the Caucasian Shepherd takes the cake - and anything else he wants. A large flock guardian, even wolves don't mess with this bad boy. If by tough you mean strong then the German Shepherd wins. His speed, stamina and strength are great assets for a guard dog.