What happened in nineteen oh eight?

1908 began at midnight when a 700-pound "electric ball" fell from the flagpole atop the New York Times building—the first-ever ball-drop in Times Square. It ended 366 days later (1908 was a leap year) with a nearly two-and-a-half-hour flight by Wilbur Wright, longest ever made in an airplane.

---

In 1908: On February 1, King Carlos I and Prince Luis Filipe of Portugal were shot dead. On May 14, the Franco-British Exhibition opened in London. On June 30, the "Tungaska Event" happened as an enormous explosion over Russia. On October 1, the Ford Model T was officially launched.