What does it mean when a doctor says stat?

When a doctor says stat, it means right away, or immediately. It's almost the same as if you said, ASAP, except that ASAP might just mean, as soon as you can get around to it. Stat really does mean, right away. Stat is taken from the Latin word, statim, which means, instantly or immediately.