Are pineapples citrus?

Pineapples are not a citrus fruit. They belong to the Bromeliaceae family, while citrus fruits are from the Rutaceae family. Pineapple’s acidic notes come from the vitamin C content, not from citric acid.

---

A pineapple does not grow from seeds like and orange or lemon…it contains vitamin c and ascorbic acid but not citric acid. Hence it is not a citrus