Is baking soda the same as baking powder?

No, Baking soda contains one ingredient, sodium bicarbonate. However, Baking powder contains sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate and either sodium acid pyrophosphate or sodium aluminum sulfate.

---

No, but they can be used as substitutes for one another in baking by using different quantities