What is a walk over in tennis?

If a player cancels their participation in a match with less than 24 hours notice, or if a player is more than 30 minutes late with no explanation, the opponent may claim a walkover win. When Serena Williams withdrew from the 2020 French Open, her opponent won by walkover.