Are there freshwater octopus?

Yes. The Freshwater Octopus is a medium-sized cephalopod occasionally found in rivers of North America. It is said to be 2–3 feet long. They are said to be found in the Licking River, Kentucky; Kanawha and Blackwater Rivers, West Virginia; Ohio River, at Louisville and Cincinnati.