Are sugar alcohols the same as sugar?

There are many types of sugars. Refined cane sugar, the white table sugar, is only one type of sugar. The process of distilling is to convert the sugars in grapes, hops, potatoes, etc. to alcohol. It does this by boiling the liquid and condensing the stem.