Where was minnesota fats born?

Minnesota Fats was a fictional pool hustler created by the novelist, Walter Tevis, in book called The Hustler. A real pool hustler, Rudolf Wanderone, born in NY & called New York Fats, changed his name to Minnesota Fats after book published.