How do you ripen a pineapple faster?

Look for pineapples with bright green leaves, yellow coloring to the rind and a sweet odor indicating ripeness. Avoid fruit with brown leaves. Place a whole pineapple into a paper bag with a whole apple. Fold the top of the bag over and leave at room temperature for one day.