When did doctor seuss start writing books?

Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss, published his first children's book, And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, under the name of Dr. Seuss in 1937. Next came a string of bestsellers, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham.