Is there such thing as a raccoon dog?

The raccoon dog, also known as the mangut, tanuki or neoguri, is a canid indigenous to East Asia. It is the only extant species in the genus Nyctereutes. Despite its name, its closest relatives are true foxes and not the American raccoons.