Why is the sea water salty?

Sea salt primarily comes from rocks on land and openings in the seafloor. Rocks on land are the major source of salts dissolved in seawater. Rainwater that falls on land is slightly acidic, so it erodes rocks. This releases ions that are carried away to streams and rivers to the ocean.