What is the meaning of course?

A course is the route or direction followed by a ship, aircraft, road, or river. It can also be a dish, or a set of dishes served together, forming one of the successive parts of a meal. In education, it is a unit of teaching. To course means (of liquid) to move without obstruction; flow.