How do you cook fresh string beans?

Today’s string beans lack the tough, fibrous string on one side that used to be removed before cooking and are now known as green beans. As a versatile vegetable, they can be eaten raw, or cooked in a variety of ways: steamed, sautéed, boiled, roasted, or added to salads, soups, stews, etc.