What is a bourbon?

Bourbon is a whiskey produced in the US. Bourbon must be made from a grain mixture that is at least 51% corn, aged in new, charred oak containers, distilled to no more than 160 US proof, entered into the container for aging at no more than a 125 proof, and Bottled at 80 proof or more.