What's the mariachi?

Mariachi is a genre of Regional Mexican music dating back to at least the 18th century, evolving in the countryside of western Mexico. The term is often used to denote a band that consists of violins, trumpets and at least one guitar. All players take turns singing and doing backup vocals.