Can dogs get diverticulitis?

Yes, dogs can get diverticulitis, but it is rare.

---

Diverticulitis is rare a condition in both dogs and cats. Small diverticula may be treated with a bland, soft diet fed with the animal in an upright position. Large diverticula require surgical excision and reconstruction of the esophageal wall. The prognosis after surgery is fair to good.