Why did they give us the statue of liberty?

The Statue of Liberty was a gift from the French people commemorating the alliance of France and the United States during the American Revolution. Yet, it represented much more to those individuals who proposed the gift.

---

As a commemoration of the friendship between the United States and France on July 4th 1884.