What is the most widely used language?

English is the most spoken language in the world according to World Atlas.com (updated 2019-06-07). The number of English speakers is estimated to be 1.39 billion people. Mandarin Chinese is 2nd with an estimated 1.15 billion speakers. Ranked by # of native speakers, all Chinese is in first place.