What was the stonewall event?

The Stonewall Inn was a gay bar in New York's Greenwich Village which became the site of an important uprising. When police raided the Stonewall on June 28, 1969, patrons and bystanders resisted arrest and ultimately a riot ensued. This act of defiance inspired numerous LGBTQ rights groups to form.