Who was the world's first millionaire?

John D. Rockefeller is held to be the world's first official billionaire, achieving that status in 1916 largely through his ownership of Standard Oil. 2 From that point nearly a century ago, wealth has multiplied to the point where the richest men in the world top out at around $100 billion