What is a sharp italian cheese?

The sharpness of a cheese is determined by how long a cheese has been aged naturally. The longer it is aged the sharper and more pronounced the flavor will be. Some of the most popular sharp Italian cheeses are Parmiggiano Reggiano,Grana Padano and Fontinella.