Is disappointed in adjective?

The word "disappointed" is an adjective because it describes a noun, as in "The disappointed child started crying." However, it can also be a verb, because to disappoint is to fail to fulfill the hopes or expectations of (someone). "Disappointed" is the past tense of this verb.