What is a chiffonade of basil?

It is a technique used to chop herbs. Roll the basil leaves tightly and using a sharp knife, gently chop the basil on the diagonal.

---

Chiffonade is a very pretty word for the very simple process of slicing basil or any other delicate herb into very thin ribbons. A chiffonade of basil means : To stack, roll and slice very thin ribbons with a Sharp Knife.