What is the difference between a pine tree and a fir tree?

There are different types of evergreens. If 2 - 5 , needles come out of the same spot on a twig, it's a pine. If only one comes out, at each spot, it is a fir or a spruce. If the branches have needles coming out only on the sides, it is a fir. If they come out all the way around, it is a spruce.