Who made the first pickle?

Mesopotamians. Over 4000 years ago. Dating as far back as 2400 BC: Archeologists and anthropologists believe that the ancient Mesopotamians pickled cucumbers as a way to preserve them. The word “pickle” comes from the Dutch pekel or northern German pókel, meaning “salt” or “brine.”