What is a poem of cornbread?

I would suggest "When the Burning Begins" by Patricia Smith. The first four lines read: The recipe for hot water cornbread is simple: Cornmeal, hot water. Mix till sluggish, then dollop in a sizzling skillet. When you smell the burning begin, flip it.