Who pays for an autopsy?

Usually, the entity requesting the autopsy is the one paying. It may be the deceased's family: in some cases, maybe if medical malpractice or hospital error is presumed, the facility might bear the cost. In case of investigations or uncertainity of the cause of death, it at the State's expense.