Where did rock paper scissors originate?

The game originated in China and was first mentioned in the book Wuzazu by the Chinese Ming-dynasty writer Xie Zhaozhi, who wrote that the game dated back to the time of the Chinese Han dynasty (206 BC – 220 AD).