What was the fastest world war two plane?

Most sources list the German Messerschmitt ME 163 Komet as the fastest plane to see combat in WW2. Introduced late in the war, this early jet fighter was reported to have topped 700 MPH, but was not officially recognized as setting a speed record. Other speed estimates range between 650 and 700 MPH.