Did anyone escape alcatraz?

In all, 36 men made a total of 14 escape attempts during Alcatraz's history. Of these, 23 were caught, six were shot and killed during their escape and two drowned. The remaining five went missing and were presumed drowned.

---

Night June 11, 1962, Frank Morris & John & Clarence Anglin escaped max security Alcatraz Prison. Listed missing, presumed drowned; bodies never recovered. FBI repressed 2013 letter allegedly from ill John Anglin saying they made it. 2015 HISTORY CH showed pic of bros in Brazil 13 yrs after escape.