Where did cookies come from?

The word cookie dates from at least 1701 in Scottish usage where the word meant "plain bun", rather than thin baked good, and so it is not certain whether it is the same word. From 1808, the word "cookie" is attested "... in the sense of "small, flat, sweet cake" in American English.